Twins

And on an Entirely Different Note (but Completely Necessary to Share…) 

Re: this article:

The Racism I’ve Experienced As A White Mom Who Adopted Black Kids 

I saw something else posted earlier this week about the whole “Black lives matter” movement that I’ve been brushing off with my “all lives matter” (white) view of the world that completely changed my mind:
#BlackLivesMatter doesn’t mean other lives don’t. Like, people who say “Save the rainforests” aren’t saying “Fuck all other types of forests”

I can’t lie…having an adopted black brother myself, I’ve falsely put myself into the category she describes where “I can’t possibly be racist at all…” because of such. She’s right though, in reality I’m no less (and no more) biased about anyone different from myself, other than my own brother, than I would be had he not been a part of our family. And I’ll also admit that I do (or did) assume that he won’t be treated any differently than my other siblings because he’s part of a white family (because this somehow makes him less black? Nope, think again…) 

What I really have to remember is that while he’s out with his friends, while he’s out alone, hell even when he’s out with his white family (or really some white some Hispanic if we’re being technical), people see him as black first. If he’s out alone, the police won’t know he’s from a “nice white family” and no harm at all to the world. He will be treated as a black kid which will be subject to whomever he may be interacting with at that moment. My 10 year old brother doesn’t have a hateful bone in his body, and yet the world will implicitly judge him as somehow more “dangerous” or “threatening” than his white siblings. 

It scares me and it’s so sad that this has to be something we say to our black children, but she puts the advice perfectly in the article: “When Trayvon Martin was killed, I had to sit Clay down and tell him if he is ever involved with police that he be respectful, EVEN IF THEY GOT IT WRONG AND HE IS INNOCENT. I told him to comply, put his hands up, be respectful, don’t resist. I told him to do whatever they want and when he gets to the police station to call me and we will work it out from there.”
Is this the best we can do as Americans?? As humans?? #werebetterthanthis #spreadlove #wagmorebarkless ✌🏼️🇺🇸👦🏻👧🏼👦🏽👧🏾👦🏿🇺🇸✌🏼

Leave a Reply

