Twins

28 Days Later…and then 20 Days after that…

Soooo…we had the twins…. [excited screams] 7 weeks ago tomorrow lol. I have been meaning to post for quite some time but I’ve been, well, rather busy with newborn twins and all. But better late than never…

May 21, 2016 ~ Arielle Piper ~ 1:58pm, 4 lbs 9.5 oz, 17 inches ~ Daniela Rylee ~ 1:59pm, 4 lbs 11 oz

For all the insanity that was their brother’s birth story, theirs is equally uneventful. Water broke Saturday morning around 8:15am and by 2:00 that afternoon we had babies in our arms. Straight off to the c-section this time, I wasn’t about to play around with two making their entrance. Though to be fair with the girls I did go into legit labor on my own (unlike their brother who needed a pitocin line to get things moving) and with them both head down, I had the choice to go for a VBAC….the surgeon even mentioned it as they were wheeling me into the OR. But it was a hard pass on my end. Plus, I’d forgotten exactly how much contractions suck a bag of dicks and wanted to be done with all of that nonsense pretty much as soon as I walked into the hospital.

IMHO the c-section was the best decision I could have made…recovery was SO much easier without having the added exhaustion of roughly 2 days of labor and 5 hours of unsuccessful pushing, only to be under general anesthesia for the birth itself. This time I actually got in trouble the second day for going pee by myself too early. What can I say, classic overachiever I am and all. The girls were totally healthy, albeit just tiny little things at roughly 4 & 3/4 pounds a piece. No NICU time, no special interventions. I was even nursing them like a champ when we left the hospital just 4 days later. A wonderful little story to cherish. #Delicatwins 

And then, of course, we came home and the reality of a life with an almost-five-year-old and twin newborns set in. And I blinked and 7 weeks have flown by. I imagine I’ll say pretty much the same thing when they’re 7 months and then 7 years old down the road….

So much to talk about…the ludicracy  of going back to work at 8 or 9 or even 12 weeks postpartum is a big one right now. But for tonight I’ll call this a win, after all I’ve been writing this post for the better part of 7 weeks as it is and it’s nearly midnight so I don’t want to have to go back and change my titles and shit lol 😉

I promise, very soon I’ll divulge all the insanity that exists in the world of raising twin baby girls…

Leave a Reply

